So You Finished Your Goodreads Challenge .. now what? | Blogtober

Goodreads has been pestering me all year. It told me when I was on track, behind, or ahead of my goal. In the early months I used the progress bar to motivate myself when I didn’t feel like reading. On the day I’m writing this post I have read 58 books.

My goal was actually a reach for me. I did not expect to read 50 books in the year so easily. I expected to spend the year dipping my toes into the world of reading and instead found myself chilling in the deep end.

The main reason I was able to read so much is my local library. I live in America and I live in a big city; my library system has many popular and new titles available for me. It feels like everyday I’m requesting new library books, downloading ebooks for three weeks, or having someone drive me to the library. I’m blessed to have ease of access to the books I see bloggers and other influencers raving about so I don’t experience book FOMO. Also, I read quickly. I just didn’t expect to be able to balance reading so easily, but there is literally nothing else to do because there’s corona virus outside. Anyways, here are some things to do after meeting your goal.

Things To Do Once You Hit Your Goal

  • Up the anty: I raised my goal from 50 to 70
  • Re-read books: enjoy your freedom from the rate race of flexing on your Goodreads friends and settle into old and new favorites
  • Stop reading: go watch something on your streaming platform of choice
  • Write the reviews you’ve been avoiding: this is mainly for my fellow bloggers because I know I’m not the only one who has a backlog of reviews to post
  • Tell your friends to read: it’s no fun having a new favorite with no one to talk about it

How many books have you read this year?

11 thoughts on “So You Finished Your Goodreads Challenge .. now what? | Blogtober

  1. Congrats on reaching your reading goal! My goal is to read 88 books this year (I always take the number I read the year before and add one for my new goal) and I’m at 86 currently!

    Like

  2. 52. I’m happy with it. I wanted to slow down a bit so I could do more standalone reviews for my channel, and I think I did a good job of that.

    Like

  3. This blog post (which is so great by the way!) came at the perfect time, I finished my goal of 45 the other day and I’m going to focus on catching up on reviews! But I’m definitely going to keep reading too, just with less pressure. 50+ is such an amazing feat for the year I love that for you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment